The Clubman Order

After what felt like weeks, and actually was weeks, my future car is on order and will be build in November in Oxford.

A Clubman Diesel in Dark Silver metallic, with a black roof and C-pillars. I also went for the black Crown Spoke wheels.

The interior will have the Punch Carbon black leather seats, piano black dash panels, an anthracite headliner, and what MINI calls the “Soft Touch Knee Roll” in Rooster Red.
The list of options is long and includes the panoramic sun roof, the new Harman/Kardon sound system, the two-seat rear bench, the sport suspension, bi-xenon headlights, and a ton of electric helpers.

clubbeast_onorder

Our MINI Clubman Diesel!

You can see from the pictures, that I’ve added a few personal modifications already.
The front will feature additional driving lamps and the black grill from a Cooper S. I’ve also snapped a whole Cooper S front apron on eBay for very little money. It will replace the Cooper D front.
The mirror caps will need to get a red paint job to add a splash of color to the outside and match the interior red stripe. I’ll probably do these modification on my own at the next garage day of our MINI Club. And you may have noticed the chrome filler cap, which is going to be added by the dealership before I pick-up the car.

Talking about the dealership.
I bought my Clubman from Christian Doetsch, a.k.a. Crizz Carter on the German MINI² Club forums. He is a MINI sales manager at Hakvoort in St. Augustin, which is near Bonn. He knows MINIs inside-out and also the demanding and often weird needs of MINI enthusiasts like myself.
He may need to prepare his colleagues for a bit of a wild pick-up event.  Until then there is little I can do other than wait and drink some tea. How about some Earl Grey with a note of red pepper?

3 responses to “The Clubman Order

  1. Congratulations. That going to be one sweet MINI 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Philip! I can’t wait for the “wild pick-up event”. And yes, I did notice the chrome filler cap! Lucky you. That’ll be a beautiful MINI, haven’t seen one like that around here so far.

  3. Thank you, thank you!
    I will keep you posted on the due date.

Leave a Reply

