I’m still suffering.

There is little I can do about it. I’m still suffering. I’m on turkey if you want to say so.

After exactly 5 years and one month I sold my MINI Cooper S last week. There were many reasons to do it.
The financing ran out. Our second son was born at the end of July, which means a car with a bit more space makes more sense. For nearly two years I was only driving the MINI the 6 miles to work and back. Pretty pointless for a car like this. And pretty expensive given the thirst of the 170 horses and German fuel prices.
So the decision was made and the MINI was put onto mobile.de – a popular used car website – and into the “MINI² sell” section of MINI².info.

I even created this banner to push the sale:
mini-for-sale_2

And now it’s gone.

The MINI I loved so much. My first new car. My second car ever. The car that brought endless motoring enjoyment, a ton of new friends, the entry into amateur car racing. The car that made me and my (then) girlfriend drive all the way to Austria to meet with other MINI enthusiast we didn’t even know then. The car we drove over the Alps and down into Italy for MINI United in 2005. The car that was parked at Lake Como on the way back when we found out by surprise that we are expecting a baby. The car that was our wedding carriage. The car that carried both of our sons from the hospital to our home – only hours after they were born. My MINI.

And now it’s gone.

My older son Tim (he is 3) doesn’t get it. He asks me every morning, “Are you driving to work with the MINI today?”. He knows how to rub it in.

And that’s why I’m looking. For a replacement. MINI.
And that’s what this blog is going to be about.

7 responses to “I’m still suffering.

  1. I can feel your pain from here….

  2. Pingback: Why going to the Club, man? « Our MINI Clubman Diesel

  3. Pingback: The Clubman is here! « Our MINI Clubman Diesel

  4. Pingback: The MINI Clubman – a true family car? « Our MINI Clubman Diesel

  5. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m looking to start my own blog in the near future but
    I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I assk is because you design seems different
    then most blogs and I’m loooking forr something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  6. I’mimpressed, I muat say. Rarely do I coome acrosds a blogg that’s both equally educative
    and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the najl on the head.

    The issue is an issue that too few people arre speaking intelligently
    about. I am very happy that I stumbled across this during
    myy hunt for something regarding this.

  7. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance.
    I must say that you’ve done a superb job with this. Also, the blog
    loads extremely fast for me on Safari. Excellent Blog!

Leave a Reply

